[NOTE: All links should open up in a separate window, so you can keep this window open and see the pages referenced at the same time]
Great care has been taken to ensure as much privacy as individuals and groups desire.
Account information will not be shared with anyone for any reason. Read the Privacy Notice to be assured.
It will be necessary for both leaders (teachers, project leaders, etc. - aka "Project/Group Administrators") and participants (students, members, etc. - aka "Contributors") to create accounts with Project 1:1000. Contributors, Project/Group Administrators, and Project/Groups alike can be afforded as much privacy as they choose. Thoughtfulness and care should be exercised when creating a username. Users may want to avoid any over personally-identifying usernames. Read more about accounts, user types, and how it works here.
Users may decide whether to be visible (participate) in either the "Entire Site" or in "Project(s) only". This setting can be used in conjunction with "Location Privacy" settings (next) and can changed at any time via USER > ACCOUNT > SETTINGS > User Visibility.
Upon registration, Users have the opportunity to show or hide their city, state, and/or country. These items will be shown or hidden across the city accordingly. These settings can be changed at any time via USER > ACCOUNT > Geography.
All Project 1:1000 Users are asked to upload an image that will be associated with their account. In the same spirit as Usernames (above: "Accounts") care should be taken when selecting an account image. This image can be changed at any time via USER > ACCOUNT > SETTINGS > About Me.
Both Projects and Groups are offered the same privacy protection as individual Users. Project/Group Administrators may choose whether their Project/Group is public or private (via USER > MY GROUPS > [Group Name] > Edit > SETTINGS > Group Visibility). If Group is public, Group Administrators may choose whether to share their city, state, and/or country (via USER > MY GROUPS > [Group Name] > Edit > GEOGRAPHY.
In order to publish on the site, students will need to create a Contributor account ("User Type") when registering.
Submissions (1 image + 1000 words)
For hints on writing, subjects, etc. see Submission suggestions.
Contributors (Project Members) may share both published (completed and verified by site administrator) and unpublished Submissions (drafts) with the Project. Project must have been created and Contributor must have requested and been admitted to Project before Submission sharing is possible. Only published Submissions are available for display on the Project page, but unpublished Submissions may be viewed/monitored by Project Administrator.
Contributors may edit Submission sharing settings via USER > WORK > [Submission Title] > [Edit] > Share Submission.
Read more about Groups and Submission sharing here.
In order to create and administer a Project/Group, it will be necessary for the individual to create a Group Administrator account (Project/Group). See "Accounts" above regarding account creation.
Read more about Groups here.